CellarNotes Home
Site Index

Wine News

Taste Progression
Food & Wine
-- Wine with Turkey
-- Wine with Beef
Holding Glasses
Chilling Wine
Serving Temperatures
Open Bottles
Storing Wine
Restaurant Service

Horizontal/Vertical Tasting
When to Decant

Auction Prices- Bordeaux

Auction Prices- California
Auction Prices- Port
Birth Year Wines
Bordeaux Blends
Color of Wine
Cooking Sherry
Corked Wines
Grape Varieties
Grape Statistics
How long to Age Wine

Vintage Chart
Vintage Date
Wine Barrels
Wine Bottle Shapes
Wine Bottle Sizes
Wine Colors

Wine Names

Wine by Country
Travel Tips
Focus on France
-- Medoc
-- St. Emilion
-- Pomerol
-- Graves
-- Sauternes

Wine Books:
Great Wine Books

On-line Merchants
Links for Wine Lovers

About Us

Non-Wine Links to Friends:
Ranch Irons


Copyright DKOP L.L.C.
© 1999-2016
• All rights reserved.*




Bordeaux Classification of 1855

The Bordeaux Classification of 1855 came about when wine brokers were asked to create a classification of the wines of Bordeaux. They only included the top wines of the Medoc (except for the inclusion of Chateau Haut Brion from the Graves region). The rating was based (mostly) on the price that the wines were bringing in the market and it divided these top wineries into 5 classifications. These classifications are known as 'Growths'. The only change in this classification of these wineries since that time has been the elevation of Chateau Mouton-Rothschild in 1973 from 2nd Growth to 1st growth status.  Some Chateaux are now producing wines that deserve a higher classification and others deserve a lower rating. There are many more Chateaux that were not included in the 5 classifications.

The classified chateaux are responsible for nearly 1/4 of of the wine production in the Medoc.

Premier grands crus classes
(First Great Growths)

Chateau Lafite-Rothschild (Pauillac)

Chateau Latour (Pauillac)

Chateau Margaux (Margaux)

Chateau Mouton-Rothschild (Pauillac) Elevated in 1973

Chateau Haut-Brion  (Pessac)

Deuxieme grands crus classes

(Second Great Growths)

Chateau Brane-Cantenac (Cantenac-Margaux)

Chateau Cos-d'Estournel (Saint-Estèphe)

Chateau Ducru-Beaucaillou (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Durfort-Viviens (Margaux)

Chateau Gruaud-Larose (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Lascombes (Margaux)

Chateau Leoville-Barton (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Leoville-Las-Cases (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Leoville-Poyferré (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Montrose (Saint-Estèphe)

Chateau Pichon-Lalande (Pauillac)

Chateau Pichon-Longueville Baron (Pauillac)

Chateau Rauzan-Segla (Margaux)

Chateau Rauzan-Gassies (Margaux)


Troisieme grands crus classes

(Third Great Growths)

Chateau Boyd-Cantenac (Cantenac-Margaux)

Chateau Calon-Segur (Saint-Estèphe)

Chateau Cantenac-Brown (Cantenac-Margaux)

Chateau Desmirail (Margaux)

Chateau Ferriere (Margaux)

Chateau Giscours (Labarde-Margaux)

Chateau d'Issan (Cantenac-Margaux)

Chateau Kirwan (Cantenac-Margaux)

Chateau Lagrange (Saint-Julien)

Chateau La Lagune (Ludon)

Chateau Langoa-Barton (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Malescot-Saint-Exupery (Margaux)

Chateau Marquis d'Alesme-Becker (Margaux)

Chateau Palmer (Cantenac-Margaux)


Quatrieme grands crus classes

(Fourth Great Growths)

Chateau Beychevelle (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Branaire-Ducru (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Duhart-Milon-Rothschild (Pauillac)

Chateau La Tour-Carnet (Saint-Laurent)

Chateau Lafon-Rochet (Saint-Estephe)

Chateau Marquis-de-Terme (Margaux)

Chateau Pouget (Cantenac-Margaux)

Chateau Prieure-Lichine (Cantenac-Margaux)

Chateau Saint-Pierre (Saint-Julien)

Chateau Talbot (Saint-Julien)


Cinquieme grands crus classes

(Fifth Great Growths)

Chateau Batailley (Pauillac)

Chateau Belgrave (Saint-Laurent)

Chateau Camensac (Saint-Laurent)

Chateau Cantermerle (Macau)

Chateau Clerc-Milon (Pauillac)

Chateau Cos-Labory (Saint-Estephe)

Chateau Croizet-Bages (Pauillac)

Chateau d'Armailhac (was Chateau Mouton d'Armailhac (Pauillac))

Chateau Dauzac Labarde (Margaux)

Chateau Grand-Puy-Ducasse (Pauillac)

Chateau Grand-Puy-Lacoste (Pauillac)

Chateau Haut-Bages-Liberal (Pauillac)

Chateau Haut-Batailley (Pauillac)

Chateau Lynch-Bages (Pauillac)

Chateau Lynch-Moussas (Pauillac)

Chateau Pedesclaux (Pauillac)

Chateau Pontet-Canet (Pauillac)

Chateau du Tertre Arsac (Margaux)

There are also several estates that were not classified that are notable today.  These include:

Clos L'Eglise (Pomerol)

A class of 'good but not the very' best Chateaux are called Cru Bourgeois. This class includes:

Chateau Greysac (Medoc)